Anti-Diamonds

2 08 2007

I had heard many a rave-review for Blood Diamond, starring Leo DiCaprio. So Jay and I took a drive over to the nearest Blockbuster to rent it. Little did I know the gravity of watching the movie. This is coming from a chick who almost always loves guy-movies, violent, action-packed, fighting, martial arts movies.

So we’re sitting there watching. About 1/2 of all the scenes are violent and graphic. Well…just bloody. Now normally I can handle bloody and violent. Normally. But something about this movie made it truly unbearable. At about the 1/3 mark of the whole movie, I just couldn’t take it anymore! All I had seen was violence and senseless violence no less! There was no type of justifiable homicide or even justifiable revenge type violence. Throughout the first 1/3 of the movie, all we saw were innocent villagers being shot to death, getting their hands chopped off, getting shot for no stupid reason. The WORST part for me, personally, the children of the movie. Lost their mothers/fathers/sisters/brothers. The young boys were carted off to become child soldiers. It was truly heartbreaking and saddening. The movie focused on one family in particular and it was painful to watch them be torn apart. But worse yet, you were there to see this young boy as a happy, innocent schoolboy, who is transformed into, at first, a scared, petrified slave to brainwashing and ultimately into a vengeful, heartless thug.

After the point which the young boy is given friggin crack cocaine, there came another scene of pure senseless violence towards innocent people in city streets. At that point, I couldn’t take it anymore and I just had to get up and leave. For me, the movie made its point of the connection diamonds have to such violence that persisted in Sierra Leone back in the late 90s (that, I could imagine, still goes on). Jay had to beg me to come back to the movie twice until I finally came back to watch. Granted, I will say this. It did have a “happy” ending, which I won’t spoil.

However, it further cemented my personal ideal that I will never buy diamonds. First of all, they’re overpriced. If you look at cubic zirconias vs. “real” diamonds, they look very similar; I won’t say the same but very similar, so much so that in a passing glance, they look the same. And here’s the kicker: those people that everyone tries to impress with “rocks” will never stand there and STARE at your f’in finger to figure out whether they are REAL or “farmed” diamonds! Hello! Who is really going to bother looking at your finger for more than a passing glance?! I mean, beyond your family, really, who would look that long? And really, why should your family care!? Mine does but then again, I don’t.

Second of all, I would never feed an industry that is as deceitful and soulless as the diamond industry. I already knew about the information the movie gave but seeing it further enforced the message. Don’t be so naive as to think that there really is a shortage of diamonds. There are PLENTY of diamonds to go around! The marketers make it seem like there is a shortage to boost the demand while keeping the supply a guarded secret. The movie nailed it, though a bit too broadly: American girls are the ones supplying the demand for diamonds. Just look at what everyone talks about come wedding season: diamond engagement ring, diamond wedding ring, diamond this, diamond that. Look at what everyone drools over in tabloids: how big people’s rocks are. Give me a break! How shallow can we as a society get?!

Third of all, I also would never feed an industry that exploits and essentially murders innocent people to provide an item that is not essential. One could argue that this is probably going on in other areas of conflict, such as the Middle East. I would absolutely agree. However, in that situation, oil, at this point in time, is a necessity because a miniscule percentage of cars on the road are actual hybrids. They are not the majority yet and until scientists can figure out a different way to fuel cars, oil is essential. (Brings to mind the other movie we saw: Shooter with Mark Wahlberg…AWESOME MOVIE!)

So I vehemently stand and say that I am anti-diamonds for their non-essential usage in daily life. This of course does not count the instances in which diamonds are used in a positive or productive manner, say in the case of industrial usage. By anti-diamonds, I mean that I will never buy or wear diamonds again. Unfortunately, Jay brought up the fact that if he were to returned the diamond earrings he bought me, it would essentially still fuel the industry. So he suggested that I never wear them and leave it at that. So be it. That holds true for an engagement ring or wedding ring. NO diamonds. This is an anti-diamond zone! Pearls are SO much better! Unique and beautiful! AND, no one is killing innocent people for them! You can farm them. I am so adamant about it that I went so far as to change all my email addresses and usernames because they had “diamante” in them.

Truly, after seeing the movie, I thoroughly did NOT enjoy the graphic violence. HOWEVER, I saw the necessity in it. I absolutely hope that every single female in the world watches this movie. Well, at least the ones in America. Because that stereotype (all American girls want diamonds) is sadly very true and applicable to many many people as well. I can luckily count myself OUT of that group. Just think, if even HALF of American girls who want diamonds saw this movie and were shown the reality of the diamond industry, I am more than sure that people would find the sense in their head to figure out that they need to stop demanding diamonds. Poof! There goes half of the demand!

In short…I am anti-diamonds.

Actions

Information

One response

15 08 2007
Meaghan

hola chica…behind on blog reading, but i too felt the same way after watching Blood Diamond. i told Greg that if he intends on buying a ring he can either 1) buy Diamonique from QVC (their man made diamonds, which are cheap and beautiful) or 2) he BEST make sure it’s not a conflict diamond….ridiculous. over a stupid rock.

Leave a Reply

