Where has all the knitting gone?

2 10 2007

So it seems my blog has become somewhat political (what an understatement) with fewer and fewer posts about knitting and other craft-related topics. Well, fear not…my update 🙂

I try to knit during lunch at work but that’s difficult because, well, work is incredibly busy! That and the fact that I don’t really take my lunch 45-minutes anyway. I’m trying my hardest to finish the Friday scarf for my mom because…dang it, it seems like it’ll take forever! I love the smaller needles but boy does it take a while! But, unfortunately, I’m not quite a fan of the larger needles…quite cumbersome! You’ve got the straight ones that can get in the way. And circulars? The needle is too short! If they made circulars with needles that were longer than 4″, THEN, I could totally see them working beautifully!

Well, anyways, I’m also working on a friend’s Christmas gift. Can’t seem to pick up the right number of stitches. At first I was aiming for 118 but then I read that I could do half and then just increase in each stitch on the next row. I like to increase so I figured I’d try that method instead. Can’t get the 59 stitches! That means I’ll have to sit and really figure this one out 😦

Anyways, here’s my latest unraveling results!


That was a Tommy Hilfiger sweater that I bought at TJMaxx for $10 (I think). It was a cotton-acrylic blend. It was an interesting color so I thought I’d use it with something, hopefully anyway. Oh, and those are HUGE yarn cakes too! I, of course, never remember to measure my yarn when I unravel but as you can see, the 4 cakes are basically the same size as my 15″ laptop. And they were fat too! That is, before I shoved them into the zip bag.


Oh, and the best part, if you will…I FINALLY finished that EckoRed sweater! It took me since the beginning of the summer to completely rip because it was so darn annoying! One section was just too much so I eventually just cut it up and will use it as stuffing. Then the yarn itself, an acrylic/cotton blend again, was so weak in some parts! Though I think I may have had a hand in that during washing. But finally, it’s done 🙂 and, I have some stuffing too! Awesome possum!

I think I’m going to hold off on the unraveling fun until I finish some of the Christmas projects. Let’s see, HOW many do I have to make?? And don’t forget, I haven’t even finished blocking the BF’s sweater yet!! Egad!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

