Sienna Jolie’s gifts

1 07 2008

So the baby has been born! Sienna Jolie, what an amazingly lovely name!! And she is just the cutest little thing!

Here are the crafted parts of her baby shower gift (the others were just boring store-bought items lol) – oh and everything was made with Caron Simply Soft in pink — and the best part of these items? EVERYONE at the baby shower was OOHing and AAHHing!! :
Kimono style baby sweater from Mason Dixon Knitting
Kimono style baby sweater from Mason Dixon Knitting:
– The pattern, at first, very confusing even after I read it through a few times. But once I tried it out, it went fine except that it seems the back is much lower than the shoulder area when you hold it up. But it wasn’t a huge issue

Mary Janes from How Stuff Works
Mary Jane booties from How Stuff Works:
– Very easy pattern to follow! I actually took this pic before I finished them. I added some snaps to the straps afterwards and forgot to photograph. But really easy and I think the parents said they fit! πŸ™‚

Vine lace baby hat from Knitting Daily
Vine Lace Baby Hat from Knitting Daily:
– Easy pattern again but my gauge was off…It fit her probably for a few hours and that was it! lol I was in such a rush, I didn’t check my gauge after I started (this was last of the three that I started)…goes to show you!

So for Mari, I made a gift basket of store-bought spa items and for Ralph, a Daddy Tool Belt
daddy tool belt
– my sewing stitches were HORRIBLE!! but then again it was 3am…
– Included items: face mask, baby lotion, diapers, baby wipes, clothespin, Purel, and teething ring
– everyone got a KICK out of this!! πŸ™‚

And this little thing was for when we first went to visit Sienna – an embroidered cupcake onesie:
cupcake onesie
– I first tried to embroider ON the onesie and I hadn’t realized that onesies are stretchy…well that was a problem! So I embroidered on a white bandana, sewed that and a square of pink t-shirt fabric onto the onesie. This was the only successful sewing project so far! πŸ˜€

So all in all, I LOVE making gift baskets I’ve discovered! That and I absolutely love this little niece of mine!! πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

