Nov ’10 ACI List

31 10 2010

November 2010 ACI List:
– Gabriela Slouch Hat / Friend / Knit / December
– Alpaca Warmer / Me / Knit / Before it gets cold
– Dr. Who Phonebooth / Brother / Knit / Christmas
– Christmas Gift / Friend / Knit / December
– Christmas Gift / BOSS / Beading / December

Sparks of Inspiration:
– Numerous projects in my Queue but definitely a hat for myself
– Stationary Holder / Me / Sewing
– DP Needle Pouches / Me / Embroider+Sew / ASAP

Current Status:

Gabriela Slouch Hat – Mini-M:
– 100%! Done!
– Have to photograph and package for gifting

Gabriela Slouch Hat – Friend:
– Started on Oct 14th, it’s been on a off/on basis (as per my typical method) but I’d say I’m roughly 60% done. Probably more though since I’m already decreasing
– Started w/ US 7 in the pattern but found I was knitting too tight so, since I was using my trusting Boyd interchangeables, switched out one of the US 7 for a US 8, muuuuch better 🙂
– From the get-go (ie when I bought the yarn), I felt I was JUST going to make it with the yardage….keeping my fingers crossed still!

Alpaca Warmer – Me:
– Finally unraveled the original, will get it started for moi 🙂

Christmas Gift for Friend:
– Okay, this is a toughie! I work with this person. She lives in TX. I’m seriously racking my brain on this one. It’s TX – not very cold!
– I know she’s a NOLA Saints fan, TX Rangers fan and is just all-around awesome. Sooo…what to make?!
– Side thought on this: I don’t REALLY think it’s an issue but I have more than 1 co-worker in TX. I can’t really make something for one but not the other? Or does it even matter? I got the other one something last time I was there – does that mean I should do it again? I’m equally as close to them both (at the time, only one was my co-worker)

Christmas Gift for BOSS:
– Okay, nerve racking! Saw this awesome pair of earrings in The Earring Style Book (want it for Christmas too!)
– Just received 90% of the materials. The last item is out of stock at the moment.
– Pairing these earrings with a travel mug + awesome teas but I still feel like I’m missing something!! All in all, the earrings will cost somewhere in the $25 range + a travel tea mug (the place I WANT to get them from range from $17 – $25. The $17 is for bagged tea, $25 for loose tea…more like a gift for me!) + whatever assorted teas.
– Historically, I’ve spent $50 on my boss @ Christmas time. Herein lies the issue with handmade gifts – I know how much it costs and I know how much time it will take but I almost, almost feel unsure about whether it’s enough or not. But, will the receiver be like “oh. earrings.” Hmmm…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

