January 2011 ACI List

9 01 2011

January 2011 ACI List:
– Gabriela Slouch Hat (re-do) / Friend / Knit / June 6
– Alpaca Warmer / Me / Knit / Whenever
– Baile ruffle skirt (test pattern) / Me / Knit / March 21
– Capricorn Kitten in the Year of Kittens / Me / Crochet / Jan 20

Sparks of Inspiration:
– Cuddle mat/bed for donating this year
– Numerous projects in my Queue on Ravelry
– Stationary Holder / Me / Sewing
– DP Needle Pouches / Me / Embroider+Sew / ASAP

Current Status:

Gabriela Slouch Hat – Friend:
– I haven’t even touched this since the last time
– I gave her daughter her gift for Christmas already. It turned out that hat was good but the ribbing was too tight!! 😦 So now she wears it as a beanie, instead of a slouch hat ….still good?

Alpaca Warmer – Me:
– I actually had cast on a few weekends ago. And I keep re-reading the pattern but no matter what, I really do think that it’s written with too few stitches for it to be folded lengthwise. But maybe it was a typo and it should’ve said width-wise.
– I’ll get back to this when I have a chance. Not too urgent right now.

Baile ruffle skirt (test pattern) – Me:
– The designer (armyofknitters on Ravelry) helped me narrow down the yarn to use. She advises using cotton for its weight. I’m a fan of cottons blends but even bigger fan of wool since it’s always so darn cold up here. The cotton would hold its shape but I feel like it always gets weird on me (tunic) whereas the wool has always done right by me 😛 and would be a lighter weight skirt.
– It’s down to KnitPicks CotLin (cotton, linen blend) in a yummy Harbour (teal) color or Debbie Bliss Cotton Cashmere (cotton, cashmere blend) in an almost muted teal. I absolutely love the CotLin color but I love the cotton/cashmere so we’ll have to see. If nothing else, I can always knit a new one too 🙂 So I just need to buy the yarn and get started!

Capricorn Kitten in the Year of Kittens – Me:
– I found a set of patterns for kittens with aspects based on the astrological signs of the western zodiac. Me and my obsession with sets of things – I’m determined to crochet the whole set in a year! 🙂 (I may just have lost my mind….)
– So each kitten needs to be completed within and by the date of the astrological sign, thus Capricorn Kitten must be crocheted and finished by Jan 20….time crunch 😛

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

